04 Jul 2022

Tipperary hurler wins Fitzgibbon Player of the Year accolade

Tipperary hurler wins Fitzgibbon Player of the Year accolade

Tipperary and Holycross Ballycahill hurler Bryan O’Mara has been crowned the Higher Education Hurler of the Year today.

After a fantastic year where O'Mara captained his side to Fitzgibbon Cup victory over NUIG, the Holycross Ballycahill ace was in fine form, leading his team throughout the campaign from centre back, scoring 0-4 in the decider while also keeping Limerick star Cian Lynch scoreless.

O’Mara is a former Tipperary All-Ireland underage winner but is not currently involved with the Premier county senior setup, making the decision to opt out for 2022 as he is going travelling this summer, and would be a big plus to Colm Bonner's struggling side had he decided to hurl this year.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.